

BRITISH SOUTH AFRICA POLICE REGIMENTAL ASSOCIATION UNITED KINGDOM

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the British South Africa Police Regimental Association (United Kingdom Branch) held in the Trafalgar Suite at the Victory Services Club, Seymour Street, London on **Saturday 27 May 2023**, commencing at 11:00

Greetings: Received from the Loyal Greetings Officer at Buckingham Palace on behalf of HM the King on occasion of the AGM and the Association's congratulations on His Majesty's Coronation.

Attendees as per register Total 28: 10577 Jim Harris WP 472 Betty Harris 10532 Dave Pillans (10532) Eileen Pillans 6737 Mike Coleman 110619 Bruce Braes 7784 Steve Acornley 9439 Glenn Seymour-Hall 8661 Peter Henderson 90566 Chris Tate (90566) Helen Tate 9086 Tony Granger 9205 Jonty Court 7391 Alan Toms (9439) Janet Seymour-Hall 7705 David Bannerman 7359 Bertie Cubitt (7359) Jenny Cubitt 8443 Anthony Murphy 8021 Mike Rowley 9565 Jim Bowie 8030 Murray Russell and via Zoom 6193 Peter Good WP 129 Sheila Gault (2063) Frank Harrison 6906 HLP Peter Phillips 5358 Mick York 9079 Tony Strugnell Xperia 1011.

Apologies: A total of sixty-eight apologies were received – listed at the end of the minutes.

In Memoriam: A total of ninety members, have been recorded as having passed away since the last AGM and details have reported in the Outposts and the Chairman called for a minute's silence. The names of the following twenty-five, were members of the UK Branch:

4583 Willian Gerard (Paddy) Leen 12/11/22; 4707 Charles Anthony (Tony) Johnson 01/10/22; 5355 Hugh John Gibson 17/05/23; 5668 David Daniel (Dan) Stannard 30/03/23; 5728 Derek Lawson 11/02/22 (Late Advice); 6013 Ronald de Bres 29/08/22; 6087 George Harvey Hickinbotham 05/04/22; 6160 Robert Hamilton Laurie (Bob) Smith 03/02/23; 6473 Robert Alexander (Bob) Franklin 19/06/22; 7152 Kevin George Broad 31/01/23; 7305 Peter Maples Standaloft 30/10/22; 7346 Jack Lawrence 21/08/22; 8271 David Bellamy 15/12/22; 9129 Anthony John (Tony) Trethowan 05/05/23; 11999 George Fardell ??/02/22 (Late Advice); WP 185 Catherine (Cathy) Mason 17/04/23; 8704K Keith Warwick Latham 21/04/2022; PR Neil (Radar) Harper 07/08/22 (Late Advice); (2853) Jean Illingworth 28/12/21 (Late Advice). Hon. Member Christopher Michael Bean 20/07/22; [4721] Jean Shawyer 18/10/22; [5433] Rosemary Walsh 17/06/22. [4853] Margaret Punter 20/04/23; [5943] Hazel Borrett 12/05/23; [6063] Collen Stock.

Previous Minutes: The minutes of the Annual General Meeting – 07 May 2022 were previously circulated via Outpost issue number 108 and via <u>www.bsapuk.org</u> and were taken as read Proposed Bertie **Cubitt** and Seconded Dave **Pillans**.

Matters Arising – there were no matters arising.

Chairman's Report: Jim Harris's report attached hereto was read out to the meeting. Proposed by Bruce **Braes** and Seconded by Chris **Tate**.

Treasurer's Report: Helen **Tate** read salient points in her Report, Profit and Loss Account plus the Balance Sheet which were available for scrutiny by the meeting and are attached hereto. Proposed by **Glenn Seymour Hall** and Seconded by Mike **Coleman**.

Almoner's Report: Tony Granger read out his report which is attached hereto.

BSAP Trust Report. The report attached hereto was prepared by and read out the Trust Chairman, Alan **Toms**,

Election of Executive Committee Members.

Three members retire by rotation: Jim **Harris** (Chairman), Helen **Tate** (Treasurer) and Bruce **Braes** (College Rep) – all offer themselves for re-election for the next three years. All three were re-elected for a further 3 years.

Bertie **Cubitt** (Assistant Secretary) retires from the committee after 20 years' service and is not seeking re- election (see paragraph 3 of the Chairman's Report). Peter **Philips** Hon Life President UK and ex Officio member will be standing down from active committee involvement and will be acting in an advisory role as required.

These moves create two vacancies on the committee and both 8661 Peter Smith **Henderson** and 10519 Paul James Chandler **Cooke** have offered themselves for election There were no further proposals and both members were elected unopposed.

Appointment of Auditors: The previous auditors - Tony **Granger** (UK Association) and Peter **Phillips** (Trust) both offered their services for a further year. Both were re-appointed unanimously.

Trust Proposal: 'NOW THEREFORE THE TRUSTEES UNANIMOUSLY propose that from the next membership renewal £5.00 from each member's subscription plus any further amount that members may wish to voluntarily contribute to the Trust be paid over by the Treasurer to the Trustees for the continued benevolence of UK Branch Association Members.'

The proposal was read out by Anthony **Murphy** and motivated as per the previously circulated document:

PROPOSAL TO CREDIT THE BSAP TRUST EVERY YEAR WITH A PORTION OF MEMBER'S ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTION TO THE UK BRANCH OF THE REGIMENTAL ASSOCIATION.'

This was supported by the previously circulated document: 'REASONS IN SUPPORT OF PROPOSAL' READ OUT BY Alan **Toms**.

The Chairman replied on the lines contained in his report at the bottom of page 2 with reference to the above proposal.

A great deal of lively discussion took place culminating in the Chairman proposing the following:

A) Vote on the Proposal of the Trustees, here and now.

OR

B) Agree to defer and hold a vote on the Trust Proposal by the full membership, by means of an online vote.

A show of hands revealed only three members present were in favour of proposal A above.

The Chairman indicated that the necessary arrangements would be made in terms of the meeting's wishes in Proposal B above.

Any Other Business: There was no other business.

Apologies: The high number is an indication of having to change the date due to train strikes and includes those who replied to the Trust Proposal email based on assumption they would not be attending. 4428 Bruce & Odette Gates 4700 Brian Hughes 5057 Dick Ray 5111 Jack Bacon 5171 Peter Hillier 5662 Barry Henson (5662) Jean Henson 5681 Robin Harvey (5681) Carole Harvey 5775 Stewart Heath-Edwards 5907 Peter Wilson 5926 Jim Shiel 5947 Martin Edwards 5976 Nigel Seaward 5998 Ian Dunbar 6015 Al Patterson 6121 Mike Harvey 6123 Brian Pym 6156 John Andrews 6629 George Glibbery 6721 Peter Russell 6753 Roger Cook 6841 Brian Tindale 6900 Martin Gee 6902 Bob Horn 6925 Dave Darby 7184 Chris Russell 7207 Arnold Woolley 7211 Peter Biddulph 7540 Charlie Atkinson 7558 Tim Yeoman 7750 Peter Burridge 7887 Dave McCall 7962 Alan Gibson 8275 Alastair Morgan 8278 Tony Marillier 8360 Adrian Cross 8366 Red Nortier 8477 Peter Quick 8646 Andrew Field - College President 8755 Alan Hadfield - Chairman Aus Branch 8800 Jim Taylor 9072 Keith Lowe 9226 David Cardy 9270 Geraint Jones 9469 Mike Terry 9591 Les Burrow 9638 Chris Smith 9790 Duncan Waugh 10488 Markham Batstone 10519 Paul Cooke 111697 Charles Bennett WP 346 Ming Merrifield 900416 Rich MacLean WFR 29 Joan Walker WFR Trish Cech 204642 Daphne Martin (nee Bristow) 202956 Hilda Olivier 203679 Paula Woolley [4503] Joan Humberstone [5670] Jane Pringle (7760) Rose Bowen (8182) Trish Ainsworth 6023PR Alan & Janet McDonald 16043M Percy Claridge 21063 John Rushton 23562 Marshal Grieve 26265Y Norman Baker 28306R Kevan Hyett 32125S Vance Wells Historian Paul Brewster

Closure: There being no other business, the meeting was closed at 12h15.

Chairman

и. о. *к*

Chairman:

Hon Secretary